Archive for October 4th, 2010

October 4, 2010

Day 9: Your Past Life

We like to make light of the half decade you have on me (with the game “When I was nine, you were losing your virginity” or “When I was starting fifth grade, you were getting your learner’s permit”).  Nonetheless, the difference is significant.  You graduated college when I was still in high school.  You took time to work and travel and pick up hobbies like figure drawing and set up an apartment all your own.

Five years ago, you describe your attitude toward dating as unsure, more than anything.  I wonder what that means about what I mean to you.

October 4, 2010

Day 8: The Quiet Ones

I am more than a little hesitant to pursue those beautiful boys who know that they are beautiful.  They do not necessarily need to develop personalities to match their faces (although, that is not to say that all ugly people have good personalities).  They have their pick of equally beautiful girls or, for lack of those, girls who are willing to do not-so-beautiful things to win the boys’ affections.

Conversely, I find myself drawn to The Quiet Ones–those boys whose faces/voices are not so conventionally attractive/audible to those who are not looking/listening carefully–because it feels like the most delicious secret.