Day 26: Birds of a Feather

I understand that your wings have been broken and that you’re having a hard time remembering how to fly.  I also know that you miss the feeling of cold air in your little lungs and rattling against your hollow bones.  It is a feeling that those who have never left the ground can’t relate to.  It is a memory that aches in your muscles, ribs, and echoes in your throat as a sad, hushed song.  I know this because my wings have been broken too.

 

But I can learn to love the ground as long as I am with you.

Leave a Reply

